Skip to content

Ten Haiku

August 3, 2010
Diaphanous clouds
Diffuse the soft light of your
Creamy white fullness

Always stay with me
Even as you drift away
Into other dreams

Sweet sauce on my lips
I am stuffed to my limit
And, ooh, so thankful

Old man winter, please
Give up the ghost already
Go into the light!

Cast through bedroom shades
Just before dawn, moon shadows
Dance on barren walls

Here, he passed me by…
Tell-tale blood drops washed away
By tears from heaven

Unprecedented
Change is inaugurated.
Hopefully not too late.

Faces now and then
Again in time, take us back…
Now, then, where were we?

Chocolate cordials
Melting lover’s hearts away…
Sweetness fills the air

How lovely she is;
Slither of brilliance against
A cobalt blue sky

These are a few haiku that I have written over the course of a year. My favorite one is “Chocolate Cordials.” I like them all for various reasons, but I think “Chocolate Cordials” captures the essence of haiku more fully than the others. I wrote it for Valentine’s day. One of the main ideas that haiku strives for is the economy of words. Because of their confined structure, it is essential that haiku express the most thought or feeling with the fewest words possible. Also important is imagery. Haiku should evoke visual imagery that stays in your mind after you read it.
In addition, classic haiku usually gives give you a sense of season or nature. And of course, our modern (western)version of the Japanese haiku is typically composed of three lines of five, seven and five syllables.
Haiku capture a fleeting moment; a sensation or experience, an emotion or sentiment that might otherwise be forgotten in the course of a day.
Another of my favorites is “Cast Through Bedroom Shades.” It captures a very poignant visual, and plays subtly on the emotions. For me it evokes a sense of longing.
I wrote “Sweet Sauce On My Lips” partly for fun. This was my Thanksgiving Haiku.
Haiku is a very interesting form of poetry. It may seem very simple, and perhaps elementary at first, but the more you work with this form, the deeper you get into it, and the more it challenges you.
Anyway, let me know what you think of these, and feel free to leave some of your own Haiku here!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve Kramer permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:25 am

    a trail of paw prints
    across my bed held loosely
    by the August heat

  2. August 9, 2010 1:59 pm

    Very nice!

Leave a comment